Do we understand the meaning of independence?

Terrorism and corruption has increased at very high in the country. Terrorism is destroying humanity and corruption is ruining our true freedom. For this day sacrifice was given by our strugglers? Our own people are taking lives of ours. Young people today don’t understand the true meaning of freedom. There are people who understand the meaning of independence. We should celebrate our independence day by remembering our strugglers. Think how we can end terrorism and corruption in our country. Our country was known as golden bird in past, is that possible to make our country golden bird now?

I am proud to be an Indian, are you?
It has been a long journey for India 1947. After more than two hundred years of British rule, India finally won backs its freedom on 15th August, 1947. In history this date has a special significance as it gave birth to a new nation and a new era. Independence Day was also the end of nearly a century of struggle for freedom, battles, betrayals and sacrifices. People gave their life so that our country enjoys freedom from Britishers who ruined our country. We have actually forgotten the cost our freedom fighters have paid to achieve this independence. We hardly remember our struggle for freedom but history tells us that it was not achieved in one day. Various regional revolutions that rose against the British Empire were Kittur Rebellion in Karnataka, Sannyasi Rebellion in Bengal, Santhal Rebellion in Bengal, and Kutch Rebellion in Saurashatra. The main Indian freedom struggle began with the Revolution of 1857. The revolt started because of the growing difference between the Indian soldiers and their British officers. On March, 1857, Mangal Pandey a soldier of the Indian army attacked British Sergeant. For this he was hanged to death. After that the revolt broke out in other places such as Meerut, Lucknow, Jhansi, and Kanpur.
Then India’s freedom struggle took a new turn. Organized movement started in India. In the year 1867, Dadabahi Naoroji established East India Association. Surendranath Banerjee formed Indian National Association in 1876. The organization was inspired by A.O. Hume who was a retired British civil servant. Arya Samaj, Brahmo Samaj and other socio-religious groups were also formed. Great men like Rabindra Nath Tagore, Sri Aurobindo, Dadabhai Naoroji, Swami Vivekananda, Ramakrishna Paramhansa, Subramanya Bharathy, Bankim Chandra Chatterjee and Sir Syed Ahmed Khan ignited the passion of freedom in the minds of the common people of India.
The Indian national movement took a major turn with the help of the members of the Indian National Congress. Bal Gangadhar Tilak was the first person to demand for Swaraj which means freedom. His famous sentence “Swaraj is my birthright, and I shall have it” inspired many Indians. In the year 1885 the first meeting of the Indian National Congress was arranged in Bombay. In the year 1907 the Indian National Congress got split into two halves – The Extremist and the Moderates. The prominent leaders of the Extremist group were Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Lala Lajpat Rai and Bipin Chandra Pal. The moderates included Dadabhai Naoroji, Gopal Krishna Gokhale and Pherozeshah Mehta.
India’s freedom struggle gained a new momentum with the entry of Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi. He is a popular Indian leader and joined the Indian freedom struggle after returning from South Africa. Gopal Krishna Gokahale became his mentor. Gandhi’s ideas and views about conducting non-violent struggle against the British appeared baseless to some Congressmen.
The first non-cooperation movement urged the common people of India to use Khadi and Indian made goods. It also urged the Indians to boycott everything which has British connection. It became very popular but Gandhiji withdrew the movement after the Chauri Chaura incident which killed twenty two police men. On 12th March, 1930 he started Dandi March or Salt Satyagraha.
In the 1900s many revolutionary activities also started in different states such Bengal, Orissa, Maharashtra, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, and Punjab. India’s freedom struggle reached its climax with the formation of Indian National Army or INA in the year 1942 by Subhash Chandra Bose. In 1942 Gandhiji launched another movement called the Quit India movement. Then series of India’s freedom struggle continued to till independence and finally in the year 1947 India became independent.
Are you aware of Indian National Symbols?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *