IPL4 – Two New Teams In 2011

IPL-3 is just going crazy and exciting it was believed before start of season. It was believed that that this year two more teams would be taking part but this could not happen this year, but surely two more teams are going to take part in IPL-4. The franchises up for bids include Nagpur, Pune, Ahmedabad, Kanpur, Dharamshala, Indore, Cuttack, Gwalior and Visakhapatnam. The two cities attracting the highest bids will join the eight existing IPL teams.

IPL Commissioner Lalit Modi expects the minimum base price for bidding to be fixed at $250 million, five times the base price for the eight original teams that were auctioned in 2007. Lalit Modi, the IPL commissioner, tweeted that there were 5 bidders and which included Videocon, Adani, the Sahara group the Jaypee group and Pune-based builder Anirudh Deshpande.
The prices of the 8 Franchisees which were bought earlier are as below:
  • Mumbai Indians – Mukesh Ambani – Rs 441 crore
  • RCB – Vijay Mallya –Rs 440 crore
  • Deccan – T Venkatram Reddy –Rs 422 crore
  • CSK – N Srinivasan –Rs 359 crore
  • DD – GM Rao –Rs 331 crore
  • KXIP – Preity Zinta –Rs 300 crore
  • KKR – SRK –Rs 296 crore
  • RR – Manoj Badale – Rs 264 crore
The Eight teams total amount is Rs 2853 crore. But the two new teams are much more costlier than old one’s.
The highest bid was of Sahara Adventure Sports Ltd for Pune was Rs1702 crore
The second highest was Rendezvous Sports Ltd.Rs 1533 crore and they bid for Cochin.
These two teams make total of Rs 3235 crore.
Many individuals and companies have shown interest in owning IPL teams, such as actors Ajay Devgan, Salman Khan and Sanjay Dutt, and the Anil Dhirubhai Ambani Group.
IPL has just broken the limits and dreams of thinking about the games. IPL in three years have made a huge mark on common man or we can say cricket lover’s. Hope to see much more hot matches in future by these two new teams.
Subroto Roy owner of  Pune team of IPL 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *